Asia Center Faculty Conference Grant

Harvard University Asia Center
Overview

The Asia Center offers grants of up to $30,000 to support conferences organized by Harvard faculty members, preferably in pairs or small groups. Topics must involve more than one country or region (from East, South, or Southeast Asia) and must approach the topic from more than one discipline.

Preference will be given to faculty who collaborate across more than one Harvard school and to projects with meaningful graduate student participation. Conferences that are primarily funded by the Asia Center should be branded as Asia Center conferences.

The Asia Center will consider small, off-cycle grants (up to $2,000) for projects that fall outside of the above categories. Please contact Jorge Espada at jorge_espada@harvard.edu before submitting an application.

Please note the series of deadlines:

Applications received by Friday, October 11, 2019 will be reviewed by Thursday, November 7, 2019

Applications received by Friday, November 8, 2019 will be reviewed by Thursday, December 5, 2019

Applications received by Friday, January 10, 2020 will be reviewed by Thursday, February 13, 2020

Applications received by Friday, February 14, 2020 will be reviewed by Thursday, March 12, 2020

Applications received by Friday, March 13, 2020 will be reviewed by Thursday, April 16, 2020

Application Deadline

Friday, November 8, 2019

Application Requirements

Please submit the following by email to Jorge Espada at jorge_espada@harvard.edu:
• AC Faculty Grant Application Form (available below)
• 3 to 5-page proposal, including research plans, the significance of the project to the field, the anticipated timeline, and expected outcomes
• CVs of all applying faculty members
• 1-page budget
• 1-page budget justification


Asia Center Faculty Grant Application Form

Harvard University's Asia-Related Resources